Leader magazineASCL - Association of School and College Leaders

Write Now Winners

Congratulations go out to the 2010 regional winners of Write Now, the Parliamentary Press Gallery writing competition, which is supported by ASCL. They are as follows.

Years 10-11 :

  • Anthony Blair, Grey Court School, Richmond (Surrey)

  • Tom Brookes, The King Edward VI School, Morpeth

  • Tom Kelly, Wyedean School and Sixth Form Centre, Chepstow

  • Finlay McAlpine, Bathgate Academy, West Lothian

  • Grace Paddock, Wyedean School and Sixth Form Centre, Chepstow

  • Georgina Stark, Ruskin Sports College, Crewe

Years 12-13 :

  • Josh Boswell, Ellesmere College, Ellesmere

  • Samantha Millard, Highcliffe School, Christchurch

  • Adam Roberts, Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe

  • James Paxton, Harrogate Grammar School

  • Madelaine Winn, Tormead School, Guildford

The regional winners will spend 2 March at the Palace of Westminster and 10 Downing Street, meeting political journalists, government ministers and MPs. The overall winners will also be announced.

The aim of the competition is to promote discussion of the values of Parliamentary democracy and the political process. This year, aspiring writers were asked to put forward ideas for inclusion in the election manifestos of the three main political parties.

ASCL would encourage all schools and colleges to get involved in the competition in 2011. For more details, visit www.writenow.org.uk

© 2024 Association of School and College Leaders | Designed with IMPACT