Leader magazineASCL - Association of School and College Leaders

Teaching Award winners honoured

Kelly Holmes and Dennis Richards

Hearty congratulations go to all the ASCL members who were recognised in the 2007 Teaching Awards. The regional ceremonies and the national ceremony in October are a well deserved opportunity to recognise the hard work and dedication of so many people in the education profession.

Nominations are already being taken for 2008. To nominate someone for an award go to www.teachingawards.co.uk

Taking home the national Ted Wragg Award for Lifetime achievement was:

  • Dennis Richards OBE, (above)
    St Aidan's CE High School, Harrogate

The national winner for secondary headteacher of the year was:

  • Jo Shuter,
    Quintin Kynaston School, London

ASCL members who won their region's award for headteacher of the year were:

  • Caroline Haynes,
    Tendring Technology College, Essex

  • David Nichols,
    Littleover Community School, Derby

  • John Townsley,
    Morley High School, Leeds

  • Tarun Kapur,
    Ashton-on-Mersey School, Greater Manchester

  • Isobel Bryce,
    Saltash.Net Community School, Cornwall

  • Roger Skilton,
    Llangatwg Comprehensive School, West Glamorgan

  • David Meredith,
    Perryfields High School, Oldbury

In the West of England region, an ASCL member took home the teacher of the year in a secondary school award:

  • Neville Coles,
    Priory Community School, Weston-Super-Mare

© 2021 Association of School and College Leaders | Designed with IMPACT