Leader magazineASCL - Association of School and College Leaders

New Year’s Honours List


Congratulations to all the ASCL members who were recognised in the 2009 New Year's Honours List.

Receiving a Knight Batchelor was:

  • Robert Edwards, head, Garforth Community College, Leeds

CBEs were awarded to:

  • Isabelle Boyd, head, Cardinal Newman High School, Bellshill, North Lanarkshire

  • Tarun Kapur, executive head, Ashton-on- Mersey and Broadoak Schools, Trafford

OBEs went to:

  • Keith Blackwell, principal, Esher Sixth Form College, Surrey

  • Andrew Hutchinson, executive principal, Parkside Federation, Cambridgeshire

  • John Lockett, formerly principal, Grosvenor Grammar School, Belfast

  • David Newsome, head, Dyffryn Taf Secondary School, Whitland, Carmarthenshire

  • Christine Owen, head, Bartley Green School, Birmingham

© 2021 Association of School and College Leaders | Designed with IMPACT