Leader magazineASCL - Association of School and College Leaders

An honourable lot

When the New Year's Honours List for 2006 came out, it was highly satisfying to see how many of those recognised were in the field of education.

Our sincere congratulations go out to the following ASCL members who were named on the list.

CBEs were awarded to:

  • Dr Tony Broady, formerly head of Walker Tech College, Newcastle-upon-Tyne

  • Peter Galloway, head of Trinity Academy, Edinburgh

  • Bob Howarth, chief executive of Macmillan City Technical College

  • Judette Tapper, head of Stockwell Park High School, Lambeth

OBEs were bestowed on:

  • Ros Gulson, head of Walton Girls' High School, Grantham

  • Dr Melvyn Kershaw, head of Haybridge High School and Sixth Form, Hagley

  • David Linnell, principal, John Leggott College, Scunthorpe

  • Dr Thomas Mulryne, formerly principal of Methodist College, Belfast

  • John Player, head of Grange Technical College, Bradford

MBEs were awarded to:

  • Dr Eileen Court, formerly deputy head of Rising Brook High School, Stafford

  • Robert Pepper, deputy head of Dame Alice Owen's School, Hertfordshire

© 2021 Association of School and College Leaders | Designed with IMPACT